Widdershins

England, 1649. A sadistic witch hunter. 
An innocent healer accused of witchcraft.
Can she escape the hangman’s noose?

John is cursed by the scourge of witchcraft. When his parents die at the hands of an old crone, the orphan faces a choice. A hard life with a preacher who serves God. Or an easy life with a woman who serves Satan. He chooses God. Raised on raging sermons, the valiant boy finds his true purpose: to hunt witches and save innocent souls from the jaws of hell. 

When Jane barters herbal remedies with the apothecary, the unsuspecting girl gets more than she bargained for. Accused of witchcraft, she finds herself condemned to death. 

In a town gripped by superstition and fear, two destinies collide. When the vengeful witchfinder rounds up the local cunning women, Jane is his final victim. On trial for her life, can the healer prove her innocence and escape the hangman’s noose?

If you like historical novels based on real witch trials, you’ll love Helen Steadman's Widdershins and its sequel, Sunwise

Buy Widdershins and  Sunwise to find out whether good triumphs over evil. 

Special offer: Widdershins paperback only £4.99, with free UK postage!

Recommended for fans of The Familiars, Tidelands and The Witchfinder's Sister.


Review

Historical Novel Society

“Impeccably written, full of herbal lore and the clash of ignorance and prejudice against common sense, as well as the abounding beauty of nature, it made for a great read. There are plenty of books, both fact and fiction, available about the witch-trial era, but not only did I not know about such trials in Newcastle, I have not read a novel that so painstakingly and vividly evokes both the fear and joy of living at that time.”